The Mental Health Law details a set of compulsory orders that are invoked when an individual needs to be detained for their own health and safety or the safety of others. They must be formally diagnosed as suffering from a mental health condition for which they require inpatient treatment.

A community treatment order is used when an individual needs to be supervised for their own health or safety, or for the protection of others, or to prevent exploitation by others.

There are six types of compulsory orders under the law:

Assessment Order

Treatment Order

Police Urgency Order

Medical Holding

Nurse Holding

Community Treatment Order